Lifetime Achievement Award

Michèle Ouimet accepts the CJF Lifetime Achievement Award, following introductory remarks by former colleague François Cardinal, assistant editor, and vice-president of information at La Presse. (Stephanie Lake/The Canadian Press)

About the Lifetime Achievement Award

The annual Canadian Journalism Foundation Lifetime Achievement Award recognizes a Canadian who has made an outstanding lifetime contribution over multiple decades to journalism. Individuals who have worked in any type of media (print, broadcast, digital) and in any journalism category (news, business, politics, sports, editorial cartoons, arts, etc.) are eligible for consideration. The recipient will have consistently demonstrated, throughout his/her career, a commitment to the highest journalistic standards and ideals. Their work and contribution to the field and society should serve as a model that inspires excellence in others.

Criteria for the Lifetime Achievement Award:

Among the items to be considered are:

  • Body of journalistic work during a multi-decade career
  • Contribution to their community and broader society through outstanding journalism
  • Recognition and respect from peers and audiences

**Note: Lifetime Achievement cannot be awarded posthumously. 

Judging Methodology
The judging panel is comprised of four to eight jurors (with bilingual representatives), who review all submitted entries through an online portal, rank the entries and then attend a face-to-face meeting or participate via conference call with their rankings to agree upon the recipient of the award. See this year’s jury.

The recipient will be recognized at the CJF Awards ceremony in June 2023.

Applications are open.

DEADLINE: January 20, 2023, 11:59 pm ET.

Past Recipients of the Lifetime Achievement Award

2022 Michèle Ouimet
2021 Thaioronióhte Dan David
2020 Kim Bolan
2019 John Honderich
2018 Peter Mansbridge
2017 Jean Pelletier
2016 Lloyd Robertson
2015 Michel Auger
2014 Peter Bregg
2013 Michael Maclear
2012 Jack Sigvaldason
2011 Patrick Brown
2010 Lise Bissonnette
Joe Schlesinger
2008 Sally Armstrong
2007 Norman Webster
2006 Knowlton Nash
2005 Pierre Berton (posthumous)
2004 June Callwood
2003 Doris Anderson
2002 Trina McQueen
2001 Doug Creighton
2000 Mark Starowicz
1999 Bernard Derome
1998 Peter C. Newman
1997 Peter Gzowski
1996 Robert Fulford